Services for Persons with a Physical or Intellectual Disability or an Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

Description

The Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) provides numerous services to assist persons with a physical or intellectual disability or an autism spectrum disorder (ASD). These services assist such persons with their social independence.

Services provided

Description

Specific services

Services that help maintain people’s skills and support them in their social participation.

Specialized and subspecialty services

Adaptation and rehabilitation services that focus on the development or resumption of people’s lifestyle habits in order to optimize their personal, residential, social, academic and professional autonomy.

Services for close relatives

Psychosocial support, skills development and support for families.

Eligibility

Physical disability programs and services as well as intellectual disability and autism spectrum disorder (ASD) programs and services are for people of all ages (children, adults and seniors) as well as their families and loved ones. Services are also provided to children with significant developmental delay and to people with a social communication disorder.

The needs of people with a disability vary depending on a number of factors such as age, sex, level of autonomy, environment and whether or not they have other disorders or diseases.

Help and Resources

Specific, specialized and subspecialty services and services for families and loved ones

The nature of the needs of people with a disability obliges them to resort, at one point or another, to services that ensure they are fully socially engaged and can achieve their life goals.

To learn about services provided in your region, contact your integrated health and social services centre (CISSS) or your integrated university health and social services centre (CIUSSS). To find their contact information, go to Finding Your CISSS or Your CIUSSS page.

Resources for help and support

The Office des personnes handicapées du Québec This link open a new window. (OPHQ) (in French only) provides information, advice, care and support to people with disabilities as well as their families and loved ones. You can receive assistance:

Financial support for families with disabled children

Families with disabled children can receive compensation for respite care, emergency assistance and daycare services. To learn more, contact your local CISSS or CIUSSS. To find their contact information, go to Finding Your CISSS or Your CIUSSS page.

Definitions

Physical disability is defined as impairment of a body structure or function that results, or will in all likelihood result, in significant persistent and episodic disabilities related to hearing, vision, language or motor activities. Disability reduces, or threatens to reduce, a person’s ability to achieve day-to-day activities or exercise his or her social functions.

Intellectual disability is characterized by significant limitations in intellectual functioning and adaptive behaviour, which is manifested through conceptual, social and practical skills. Intellectual disability appears during childhood, and impairments occur before the age of 18.

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a neurodevelopmental disorder that interferes significantly with social interactions and verbal and non-verbal communication. ASD is also manifested through the appearance of atypical behaviours and limited interests. Persons with ASD have varying levels of functioning that may change in one area or another over time.

Useful Website

  • Office des personnes handicapées du Québec This link open a new window.(OPHQ) (in French only)
    Government agency responsible for ensuring compliance with the Act to Secure Handicapped Persons in the Exercise of their Rights with a View to Achieving Social, School and Workplace Integration.

Last update: July 4, 2017 10:08 AM

Notice

Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions. What is cannabis ? Radon awarness month Keep your distance from the flu

Services aux personnes ayant une déficience physique, intellectuelle ou un trouble du spectre de l'autisme (TSA)

Description

Le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) offre plusieurs services qui s’adressent aux personnes ayant une déficience physique, intellectuelle ou un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA). Ces services visent à soutenir la participation sociale de ces personnes.

Services offerts

Description

Services spécifiques

Services qui servent à maintenir les acquis de la personne et soutenir sa participation sociale

Services spécialisés et surspécialisés

Services d’adaptation et de réadaptation qui visent le développement ou la reprise des habitudes de vie de la personne, pour optimiser son autonomie personnelle, résidentielle, sociale, scolaire et professionnelle

Services à l’intention des proches

Soutien psychosocial, soutien au développement des compétences et soutien aux familles

Admissibilité

Le programme-services Déficience physique et le programme-services Déficience intellectuelle et trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA) s’adressent à des personnes de tous âges (enfants, adultes, aînés) ainsi qu’à leur famille et à leurs proches. Ils offrent  également des services aux enfants ayant un retard significatif dans leur développement ainsi qu’aux personnes ayant un trouble de la communication sociale.

Les besoins des personnes ayant une déficience varient selon divers facteurs tels que l'âge, le sexe, le niveau d’autonomie, l'environnement et la présence ou non d’autres troubles ou maladies.

Aide et ressources

Services spécifiques, spécialisés et surspécialisés et services à l’intention des proches

La nature des besoins des personnes ayant une déficience fait en sorte qu’elles doivent recourir, à un moment ou à un autre, à des services pour assurer leur participation sociale pleine et entière et la réalisation de leur projet de vie.

Pour connaître les services offerts dans votre région, vous devez communiquer avec votre centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) ou votre centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux (CIUSSS). Pour en trouver les coordonnées, consultez la page Trouver votre CISSS ou votre CIUSSS.

Ressource d’aide et de soutien

L’Office des personnes handicapées du Québec Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. (OPHQ) offre des renseignements, des conseils, du soutien et de l’accompagnement aux personnes ayant une déficience, à leurs familles et à leurs proches. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’aide :

  • par téléphone : 1 800 567-1465;
  • par téléscripteur : 1 800 567-1477;
  • par courriel : aide@ophq.gouv.qc.ca.

Aide financière aux familles d’enfants handicapés

Les familles d’enfants handicapés peuvent recevoir une indemnité pour des services de répit, de dépannage et de gardiennage. Pour en savoir plus, vous devez communiquer avec votre CISSS ou votre CIUSSS. Pour en trouver les coordonnées, consultez la page Trouver votre CISSS ou votre CIUSSS.

Définitions

La déficience physique se définit comme étant la déficience d’un système organique qui entraîne ou risque d’entraîner, selon toutes probabilités, des incapacités significatives, persistances et épisodiques, liées à l’audition, à la vision, au langage ou aux activités motrices. La déficience réduit ou risque aussi de réduire la réalisation d’activités courantes ou l’exercice de rôles sociaux.

La déficience intellectuelle se caractérise par des limitations significatives du fonctionnement intellectuel et du comportement adaptatif, qui se manifestent dans les habiletés conceptuelles, sociales et pratiques. La déficience intellectuelle apparaît durant l’enfance et les incapacités se manifestent avant l’âge de 18 ans.

Le trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA) est un trouble neurodéveloppemental qui entrave de façon significative les interactions sociales et la communication verbale et non verbale. Il se manifeste aussi par l’apparition de comportements atypiques et par le développement de champs d’intérêt restreints. Les personnes ont un niveau de fonctionnement qui varie d’une personne à l’autre et qui peut, d’un domaine à l’autre, varier dans le temps.

Site d'intérêt

  • Office des personnes handicapées du Québec Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre.(OPHQ)
    Organisme gouvernemental responsable de veiller au respect de la Loi assurant l'exercice des droits des personnes handicapées en vue de leur intégration scolaire, professionnelle et sociale.

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Dernière mise à jour : 31 mai 2017, 15:12

Avis

Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Vaccination Vaccination Dépistage du cancer colorectal Dépistage du cancer colorectal