Act Respecting End-of-Life Care

Notice

The Act Respecting End-of-Life Care was passed on June 5, 2014 and sanctioned on June 10, 2014. The provisions of the Act that are set out on this page came into force on December 10, 2015.

Description

The Act Respecting End-of-Life Care (act in french only) sets out an overall, integrated vision of palliative and end-of-life care. It ensures that persons at the end of life can have access to quality care and support to suit their situation in the final stage of life, particularly by preventing and relieving suffering. The Act follows the recommendations of the Select Committee on Dying with Dignity.

The Act has two components:

  1. the rights of persons at the end of life, and the organization and framework of end-of-life care, which includes:
  2. recognition of the primacy of freely and clearly expressed wishes with respect to care, in particular by establishing an advance medical directives regime.

Rights of a person at the end of life

Every action taken towards a person at the end of life must be imbued with respect for them and recognition of their rights and freedoms. A person at the end of life must at all times be treated with understanding, compassion, courtesy and fairness, and with respect for their dignity, autonomy, wishes, needs, and safety. In addition, members of the care team responsible for an end-of-life patient must establish and maintain open, honest communication with them.

Right to receive end-of-life care

A person at the end of life has a right to receive the care and treatment required by their state of health and to have access to quality care in accordance with their needs, particularly to prevent and relieve their suffering.

End-of-life care is provided in institutions in the health and social services network, in palliative care hospices, and at home. Every institution or palliative care hospice must have a policy on end-of-life care specifying the nature and extent of care provided under its roof. It is important that end-of-life patients and those close to them consult this policy before choosing the place where they will receive care.

Also, institutions in the health and social services network and palliative care hospices must provide any patient at the end of life with a private room in the final days leading up to their death.

Medical aid in dying

Only a person of full age and capable of giving consent to care may request to receive medical aid in dying. No other person can do so for them. In addition, an end-of-life patient must meet all the criteria set out in the Act in order to receive this treatment.

Right to refuse or withdraw consent to care

Any patient, whether at the end of life or not, has the right to refuse a treatment or to request that a treatment be stopped. This includes the choice of being fed, of being artificially hydrated, or of receiving palliative care. Regardless of the reason for their decision, a person has the right to refuse treatment, even if this risks shortening their life. A patient’s right to end-of-life care cannot be denied because they previously refused to accept or withdrew their consent to treatment.

Right to be represented

In order to receive care, any person must freely give their informed consent to health professionals. When a person becomes incapable of giving consent to care, they can no longer take decisions regarding the care that their state of health requires. In this case, someone else may consent to care on their behalf. This someone can be their legal representative (mandatary, tutor or curator), a close relative (for example their spouse), or a person who can demonstrate that they have a particular interest in them. In all circumstances, this person must act in their interests and, as far as possible, comply with the wishes that the patient expressed when they were capable of doing so.

Right to express wishes for care

Any person, whether at the end of life or not, has the right to express their wishes for care in the event of incapacity to consent to care. They can do this by:

  • verbally informing those close to them of their wishes for care;
  • writing a living will;
  • writing down their wishes on a sheet of paper, dating it and signing it;
  • recording a video in which they express their wishes;
  • making a mandate in anticipation of incapacity;
  • expressing their wishes in a discussion with a doctor, who will record them in a levels of medical intervention form;
  • expressing their wishes through advanced medical directives.

Persons at the end of life and those close to them can at any time file a complaint regarding treatment or service received in the health and social services network with the Complaints and Service Quality Commissioner, or regarding treatment or service received from a physician outside the health and social services network with the Collège des médecins du Québec. Complaints relating to end-of-life care will be dealt with as a priority.

Commission sur les soins de fin de vie

The Act established the Commission on end-of-life care (La Commission sur les soins de fin de vie). Its mandate is to examine all matters relating to end-of-life care and to oversee the application of specific requirements relating to medical aid in dying.

You can contact the Commission:

  • by mail to
    Commission sur les soins de fin de vie
    2535, boulevard Laurier, 5e étage
    Québec (Québec) G1V 4M3
  • by email to info@csfv.gouv.qc.ca
  • by phone to 418 204-2059 or 1 844 200-2059 (toll-free)

Last update: June 10, 2016 2:00 PM

Notice

Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions. Registering with a Family Doctor Consumption of Alcohol and Other Drugs, and Gambling Keep your distance from the flu

Gouvernement du Québec - Dirige vers l'accueil du Portail santé mieux-être
Portail santé mieux-être

Menu principal

Vous êtes ici:Accueil > Programmes et mesures d'aide > Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie

Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie

Avis

La Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie a été adoptée le 5 juin 2014 et sanctionnée le 10 juin 2014. Les dispositions de cette loi qui sont diffusées dans cette page sont entrées en vigueur le 10 décembre 2015.

Description

La Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. propose une vision globale et intégrée des soins palliatifs et de fin de vie. Elle assure aux personnes en fin de vie l’accès à des soins de qualité et à un accompagnement adapté à leur situation particulière, lors de cette étape ultime de leur vie, notamment pour prévenir et apaiser leurs souffrances. La Loi fait suite aux recommandations de la Commission spéciale sur la question de mourir dans la dignité.

La Loi comporte deux volets :

  1. les droits, l’organisation et l’encadrement relatifs aux soins de fin de vie, qui comprennent :
  2. la reconnaissance de la primauté des volontés exprimées clairement et librement, par la mise en place du régime des directives médicales anticipées.

Droits de la personne en fin de vie

Le respect de la personne en fin de vie et la reconnaissance de ses droits et libertés doivent inspirer chacun des gestes faits à son endroit. La personne en fin de vie doit en tout temps être traitée avec compréhension, compassion, courtoisie et équité, dans le respect de sa dignité, de son autonomie, de ses volontés, de ses besoins et de sa sécurité. De plus, les membres de l’équipe de soins responsable de la personne en fin de vie doivent établir et maintenir avec elle une communication ouverte et honnête.

Droit de recevoir des soins de fin de vie

La personne en fin de vie a le droit de recevoir les soins requis par son état de santé et d’avoir accès à des soins de qualité adaptés à ses besoins, notamment pour prévenir et apaiser ses souffrances.

Les soins de fin de vie sont offerts dans les établissements du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux, de même que dans les maisons de soins palliatifs et à domicile. Chaque établissement ou maison de soins palliatifs doit avoir une politique portant sur les soins de fin de vie qui précise la nature et l’étendue des soins disponibles offerts sous son toit. Il est donc important pour la personne en fin de vie et ses proches de consulter cette politique avant de choisir l’endroit où elle se fera soigner.

De plus, les établissements du réseau de la santé et les maisons de soins palliatifs ont l’obligation d’offrir à toute personne en fin de vie une chambre pour elle seule quelques jours avant son décès.

Aide médicale à mourir

Seule une personne majeure et apte à consentir à des soins peut demander de recevoir l’aide médicale à mourir. Aucune autre personne ne peut le faire à sa place. De plus, pour recevoir ce soin, la personne en fin de vie doit absolument répondre à tous les critères prévus par la Loi.

Droit de refuser ou d’arrêter un soin

Qu’elle soit en fin de vie ou non, toute personne a le droit de refuser un soin ou de demander d’arrêter un traitement en cours. Elle a donc le choix d’être nourrie, d’être hydratée artificiellement ou de recevoir des soins palliatifs. Peu importe la raison de sa décision, la personne a le droit de refuser un soin, même si cela risque de diminuer sa durée de vie. Le refus ou l’arrêt de traitement n’affecte pas le droit de la personne de recevoir des soins de fin de vie.

Droit d’être représentée

Pour recevoir un soin, toute personne doit donner son consentement libre et éclairé aux professionnels de la santé. Lorsqu’une personne devient inapte à consentir à des soins, elle ne peut plus prendre une décision relative aux soins requis par son état de santé. Dans ce cas, une autre personne peut consentir aux soins à sa place. Cette personne peut être son représentant légal (mandataire, tuteur ou curateur), un proche (son conjoint, par exemple) ou une personne qui démontre un intérêt particulier pour elle. En toute circonstance, cette personne doit agir dans son intérêt et respecter, dans la mesure du possible, les volontés qu’elle a exprimées alors qu’elle était apte à le faire.

Droit d’exprimer ses volontés

Qu’elle soit en fin de vie ou non, toute personne a le droit d’exprimer ses volontés de soins en cas d’inaptitude à consentir à des soins. Pour ce faire, une personne peut :

  • communiquer verbalement ses volontés de soins à ses proches;
  • rédiger un testament de vie ou un testament biologique;
  • écrire sur une feuille de papier ses volontés, la dater et la signer;
  • faire un enregistrement vidéo de ses volontés;
  • faire un mandat donné en prévision de l’inaptitude;
  • exprimer ses volontés lors d’une discussion avec un médecin, qui les inscrira dans le formulaire de niveaux d’intervention médicale;
  • exprimer ses volontés à l’aide des directives médicales anticipées.

La personne en fin de vie et ses proches peuvent, en tout temps, porter plainte pour un soin ou un service reçu dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux auprès du Commissaire aux plaintes et à la qualité des services, ou encore pour un soin ou un service reçu par un médecin hors réseau au Collège des médecins du Québec. Les plaintes formulées relatives à des soins de fin de vie seront traitées en priorité.

Commission sur les soins de fin de vie

La Loi a institué la Commission sur les soins de fin de vie. Celle-ci a notamment pour mandat d'examiner toute question relative aux soins de fin de vie et de surveiller l'application des exigences particulières relatives à l'aide médicale à mourir.

Vous pouvez joindre la Commission :

  • par la poste, à l'adresse :
    Commission sur les soins de fin de vie
    2535, boulevard Laurier, 5e étage
    Québec (Québec) G1V 4M3
  • par courriel à info@csfv.gouv.qc.ca
  • par téléphone : 418 204-2059 ou 1 844 200-2059 (sans frais)

Dernière mise à jour : 10 juin 2016, 14:00

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Menu complémentaire