Panic Disorder

Description

Feeling a bit of anxiety sometimes is perfectly normal. However, you may be suffering from a panic disorder if you experience repeated and unexpected panic attacks, in other words, if feelings of terror and fear arise with neither obvious cause nor connection to life events.  

The frequency and symptoms of panic attacks consume the life of the person suffering from them. They have difficulty functioning and behaving normally at work, in society and in other areas of daily life.

Panic disorder is part of the large group of anxiety disorders.

Panic Disorder with Agoraphobia

Agoraphobia often accompanies panic disorder. Someone with agoraphobia fears public places, often because they are afraid the place may be difficult to exit, or because it may cause them to panic. A person with agoraphobia could, for instance, be unable to wait in a grocery store line.

When agoraphobia occurs, symptoms usually appear within one year after onset of panic attacks.  

Symptoms

A panic attack is characterised by the sudden and unpredictable appearance of one or more of the following symptoms:

  • Heart palpitations (heart beating abnormally fast)
  • Excessive sweating
  • Trembling
  • Numbness
  • Dizziness
  • Hot flashes or the opposite, chills
  • A sense of tightness, as though the chest was being pushed by a weight
  • A feeling of shortness of breath, suffocation
  • A feeling that the situation is surreal
  • An impression of losing self-control, going crazy
  • Fear of dying

When to Consult

Do not wait to be unable to conduct your usual activities in order to consult. If you have symptoms, you can consult certain organisations and associations working with anxiety disorders. They offer information, help and support.

However, see your family doctor or another health professional if you experience one of the following situations:

  • You have frequent panic attacks, causing you psychological suffering. Your suffering prevents you from accomplishing daily activities and fulfilling social, professional and family responsibilities
  • You isolate yourself increasingly or limit your daily activities because you are afraid of panicking in public

A health professional can assess whether you have a panic disorder, with or without agoraphobia, or another health problem with similar symptoms. To be properly assessed, it could be necessary to conduct a physical exam or to prescribe laboratory tests. You will be proposed a treatment plan that is adapted to your needs.

See the Help and Resources section to find resources available to you.

If you have suicidal thoughts and fear for your safety, or that of people around you, see the Preventing Suicide page. You will find further information on help and resources available.

Treatment

Panic disorder is an illness that can be treated. There are known treatments available to treat this disorder. Treatments allow people affected to regain control of their lives and daily activities. The earlier an affected person consults with a doctor, the faster he or she will recover.

In most cases, panic disorder is treated very effectively by a psychotherapy, anti-anxiety medication, or a combination of these 2 treatments.

Treatment for panic disorder also lowers agoraphobia. It often disappears by itself as panic attacks diminish, and then goes away completely. In rare cases, a person who is treated and has no more panic attacks can continue to have agoraphobia.

Psychotherapy Sessions

Anxiety disorder experts generally recommend cognitive behavioural therapy, which aims to change the individual’s thoughts and problematic behaviour, and replaces them with thoughts and responses appropriate to reality. It helps understand the origins of the problem and to find solutions.

Anti-anxiety Medication

Different medicines can be used to treat panic disorder, including antidepressants and anxiolytics. See the page with information on anxiety problems to learn more about:

Complications

The condition of someone with panic disorder can worsen if it is not taken seriously. See the page with information on everything you need to know about anxiety disorder complications.

Protection and Prevention

If you show symptoms of panic disorder, you can act now. Advice on maintaining good mental health will help you change certain lifestyle habits. These changes will not heal you, but they can help you eliminate factors that worsen or maintain your panic disorder.

Preventing Panic Attacks

If you have a panic attack, the best thing to do is to stay put and try to remain calm by breathing slowly until the panic stops.

Avoiding public places does not prevent panic attacks. On the contrary, it can strengthen your attacks and cause you to isolate yourself. Keep in mind that even the most unpleasant and intense panic attacks have never killed anyone.

Risk Factors

Panic disorder has no clear identified cause. It is a combination of several factors which result in the onset of symptoms of the disorder. These factors can be biological, hereditary or environmental. See the anxiety disorder information page to learn more about the risk factors of anxiety disorders.

People at Risk

Panic disorder affects women a lot more often than men.

It generally develops at the beginning of adulthood. It is rarer in children.

Help and Resources

Help and Support Resources

Resources are available for help and to obtain further information about panic disorder. You can consult the anxiety disorder information page to find available resources for anxiety disorders.

Resources for Care and Services

To receive care or services, or to find a psychotherapist with whom you are comfortable, contact one of the following resources:

To find the contact information for your family medicine clinic, your CISSS or your CIUSSS, go to the Finding a Resource section.

Last update: September 27, 2016 12:24 PM

Notice

A simple sting can harm you health! Registering with a Family Doctor Colorectal Cancer Screening Colorectal Cancer Screening Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor

Trouble panique

Description

Ressentir un peu d’anxiété dans certaines occasions est tout à fait normal. Par contre, une personne peut être atteinte d’un trouble panique si elle vit des crises de panique de façon répétitive et imprévisible, c’est-à-dire qu’elle ressent des sentiments de terreur et de peur qui apparaissent, et n’ont pas de cause évidente ni de lien avec des événements de la vie.

La fréquence et les symptômes des crises de panique envahissent l’existence de la personne atteinte. Elle a alors du mal à fonctionner et à agir normalement au travail, en société ou dans d’autres domaines de la vie quotidienne.

Le trouble panique fait partie de la grande famille des troubles anxieux.

Trouble panique avec agoraphobie

L’agoraphobie accompagne parfois le trouble panique. La personne atteinte d’agoraphobie craint les lieux publics, souvent parce qu’elle a peur de ne pas pouvoir en sortir facilement ou d’y faire une crise. Une personne qui fait de l’agoraphobie peut par exemple être incapable d’attendre en file à l’épicerie.

Lorsque l’agoraphobie se manifeste, ses symptômes apparaissent habituellement dans l’année qui suit l’apparition des crises de panique.

Symptômes

La crise de panique se caractérise par l'apparition soudaine et imprévisible d’un ou de plusieurs des symptômes suivants :

  • palpitations cardiaques (cœur qui bat anormalement vite);
  • transpiration excessive;
  • tremblements;
  • engourdissements;
  • étourdissements;
  • bouffées de chaleur ou, au contraire, frissons;
  • sensation d’oppression, comme si la poitrine était comprimée par un poids;
  • sensation d’avoir le souffle court, de suffoquer;
  • sentiment que la situation n’est pas réelle;
  • impression de perdre le contrôle de soi, de devenir fou;
  • peur de mourir.

Quand consulter

N'attendez pas de ne plus être capable de faire vos activités habituelles pour consulter. Si vous avez des symptômes, vous pouvez consulter certains organismes et associations œuvrant dans le domaine des troubles anxieux. Ceux-ci offrent de l’information, de l’aide et du soutien.

Toutefois, voyez votre médecin de famille ou un autre professionnel de la santé si vous vivez l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes :

  • vos crises de panique sont fréquentes et elles vous causent de la souffrance psychologique. Votre souffrance vous empêche de faire vos activités quotidiennes et d’assumer vos responsabilités sociales, professionnelles ou familiales;
  • vous vous isolez de plus en plus ou vous limitez vos activités quotidiennes parce que vous avez peur de faire des crises en public.

Un professionnel de la santé pourra évaluer si vous avez bien un trouble panique, avec ou sans agoraphobie, ou un autre problème de santé qui présente des symptômes semblables. Pour bien vous évaluer, il aura peut-être besoin de faire un bilan de votre condition physique ou de vous prescrire des tests de laboratoire. Il vous proposera un plan de traitement adapté à vos besoins.

Consultez la section Aide et ressources pour connaître les ressources à votre disposition.

Si vous pensez au suicide et que vous craignez pour votre sécurité ou pour celle des gens autour de vous, consultez la page Prévenir le suicide. Vous y trouverez plus d’information sur l’aide et les ressources disponibles.

Traitements

Le trouble panique est une maladie qui se soigne. Il existe des traitements reconnus pour traiter ce trouble. Les traitements permettent aux personnes atteintes de reprendre le contrôle sur leur vie et leurs activités quotidiennes. Plus la personne atteinte consulte tôt, plus elle se rétablira rapidement.

Dans la majorité des cas, le trouble panique se traite très efficacement par une psychothérapie, par des médicaments contre l’anxiété, ou par une combinaison de ces 2 traitements.

Le traitement du trouble panique fait aussi diminuer l’agoraphobie. Elle disparaît souvent d’elle-même à mesure que les crises de panique diminuent puis disparaissent complètement. Dans de rares cas, une personne traitée qui ne fait plus de crises de panique peut continuer à faire de l’agoraphobie.

Séances de psychothérapie

Les experts en troubles anxieux recommandent généralement la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui vise à modifier les pensées et les comportements problématiques de la personne et à les remplacer par des pensées et des réactions appropriées à la réalité. Elle aide à comprendre l’origine du problème et à trouver des solutions.

Médicaments contre l’anxiété

Différents médicaments peuvent être utilisés pour traiter le trouble panique, notamment les antidépresseurs et les anxiolytiques. Consultez la page d’information sur les troubles anxieux pour en savoir plus sur :

Complications

L’état d’une personne atteinte d’un trouble panique peut empirer s’il n’est pas pris au sérieux. Consultez la page d’information sur les troubles anxieux pour connaître toutes les complications liées aux troubles anxieux.

Protection et prévention

Si vous avez des symptômes de trouble panique, vous pouvez agir dès aujourd’hui. Les conseils pour maintenir une bonne santé mentale vous aideront à changer certaines habitudes de vie. Ces changements ne vous guériront pas, mais ils vous aideront à éliminer des facteurs qui empirent ou qui entretiennent votre trouble panique.

Prévention des crises de panique

Si une crise survient, la meilleure chose à faire est de rester sur place et de tenter de vous calmer en respirant lentement jusqu’à ce que la crise s’arrête.

Éviter les lieux publics ne prévient pas les crises de panique. Au contraire, cela peut renforcer vos crises et vous amener à vous isoler. Souvenez-vous que même les crises de panique les plus incommodantes et les plus intenses n’ont jamais fait mourir personne.

Facteurs de risque

Le trouble panique n’a pas de cause clairement identifiée. C’est une combinaison de plusieurs facteurs qui entraîne l’apparition des symptômes de ce trouble. Ces facteurs peuvent être biologiques, héréditaires ou environnementaux. Consultez la page d’information sur les troubles anxieux pour en savoir plus sur les facteurs de risque des troubles anxieux.

Personnes à risque

Le trouble panique touche beaucoup plus souvent les femmes que les hommes.  

Il se développe généralement au début de l’âge adulte. Il est plus rare chez les enfants.

Aide et ressources

Ressources d’aide et de soutien

Des ressources sont disponibles pour obtenir de l’aide ou pour avoir plus d’information sur le trouble panique. Consultez la page d’information sur les troubles anxieux pour connaître les ressources disponibles dans le domaine des troubles anxieux.

Ressources de soins et de services

Pour obtenir des soins ou des services ou pour trouver un psychothérapeute avec qui vous vous sentirez à l’aise, communiquez avec l’une ou l’autre des ressources suivantes :

Pour trouver les coordonnées de votre clinique de médecine familiale, de votre CISSS ou de votre CIUSSS, consultez la section Trouver une ressource.

Dernière mise à jour : 27 septembre 2016, 12:24

Avis

Rendez-vous santé Québec Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Vaccination Vaccination