Tooth Decay

Description

Tooth decay, also referred to as cavity or dental caries, is an infectious disease. It develops slowly, gradually breaking down the hard tissues of teeth.

Tooth decay is the most common disease in the world. It affects the vast majority of the population, children and adults alike. According to World Health Organisation estimates, 60 to 90% of school children worldwide and close to 100% of adults have cavities. Tooth decay can occur very early; children can get cavities as soon as their first tooth appears.

Maintaining good oral hygiene and eating food that is low in sugar and acid helps prevent tooth decay.

Formation  

Tooth decay is caused by sugars in food and bacteria activity in the mouth. These bacteria are concentrated in dental plaque, a whitish substance that also contains saliva and food particles. Dental plaque is deposited on the surface of teeth and is removed by brushing. When dental plaque stays on teeth, the bacteria it contains turn sugars in the food into acid. These acids attack teeth by forming a hole on the surface, which is the tooth decay. If left untreated, the hole widens and the cavity gets deeper.

Development

A cavity first forms on the tooth’s outer layer, which is the enamel. It then breaks through into the dentine beneath the enamel. If the cavity is left untreated, it ends up reaching the pulp, in the centre of the tooth where the nerves and blood vessels are located. The decay can destroy the pulp and leave a space inside the tooth. Bacteria can then penetrate this space and cause infection.

The development of cavities in 4 stages:

  • Stage 1 - Cavity is limited to the enamel: no pain.

    Stage 1

    Cavity is limited to the enamel: no pain

  • Stage 2 - Cavity reaches the dentine: teeth are sensitive to hot and cold.

    Stage 2

    Cavity reaches the dentine: teeth are sensitive to hot and cold

  • Stage 3 - The cavity reaches the pulp: raging toothache.

    Stage 3

    The cavity reaches the pulp: raging toothache

  • Stage 4 - The dental pulp is infected: tooth abscess

    Stage 4

    The dental pulp is infected: tooth abscess

Last update: November 8, 2016 10:45 AM

Notice

Radon awarness month Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions. Registering with a Family Doctor What is cannabis ?

Carie dentaire

Description

La carie dentaire est une maladie infectieuse. Elle se développe lentement et détruit progressivement les tissus durs de la dent.

La carie dentaire est la maladie la plus courante dans le monde. Elle affecte la grande majorité de la population, les enfants comme les adultes. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, de 60 à 90 % des enfants scolarisés dans le monde et près de 100 % des adultes ont des caries. La carie peut se manifester très tôt : les enfants peuvent avoir des caries dès l’apparition de leur première dent.

Une bonne hygiène buccodentaire et la consommation d’aliments faibles en sucre et en acidité contribuent à prévenir la carie dentaire.

Formation

La carie est causée par les sucres présents dans les aliments et l’action des bactéries qui se trouvent dans la bouche. Ces bactéries se concentrent dans la plaque dentaire, une substance blanchâtre qui contient aussi de la salive et des particules d’aliments. La plaque dentaire se dépose à la surface des dents et elle est éliminée par le brossage des dents. Lorsque la plaque dentaire reste sur les dents, les bactéries qu’elle contient transforment les sucres des aliments en acides. Ceux-ci attaquent la dent en formant un trou à sa surface : c’est la carie dentaire. Si la carie n'est pas traitée, le trou s'agrandit et la carie devient plus profonde.

Évolution

La carie se forme d’abord sur la couche extérieure de la dent, l’émail. Elle pénètre ensuite dans la dentine, située sous l’émail.

Si la carie n’est pas traitée, elle finit par atteindre la pulpe, située au centre de la dent, où se trouvent les nerfs et les vaisseaux sanguins. La carie peut faire mourir la pulpe et ainsi laisser un espace vide à l'intérieur de la dent. Les bactéries de la bouche peuvent alors pénétrer dans cet espace et causer une infection.

Le développement de la carie se fait en 4 stades :

  • Stade 1 - La carie se limite à l'émail = aucune douleur.

    Stade 1

    La carie se limite à l'émail : aucune douleur

  • Stade 2 - La carie atteint la dentine = dent sensible au chaud et au froid

    Stade 2

    La carie atteint la dentine : dent sensible au chaud et au froid

  • Stade 3 - La carie atteint la pulpe dentaire = rage de dents.

    Stade 3

    La carie atteint la pulpe dentaire : rage de dents

  • Stade 4 - La pulpe dentaire est infectée = abcès dentaire

    Stade 4

    La pulpe dentaire est infectée : abcès dentaire

Dernière mise à jour : 08 novembre 2016, 10:45

Avis

Profitez de l'été! Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Dépistage du cancer colorectal Dépistage du cancer colorectal