Children's Health

Vaccination

The best way to prevent frequent infectious diseases in children is with vaccination. In its schedule, the Québec Immunisation Program provides vaccines that children must receive in order to be protected against certain illnesses.

Gastroenteritis (Stomach Flu)

Gastroenteritis, also referred to as “stomach flu,” is an inflammation of the stomach and intestinal lining, which causes diarrhea and vomiting. It is common in children and can be caused by a virus, bacteria or parasite. To learn how to care for your child in the event of stomach flu, consult the following pages:

Lice

Lice are tiny insects found on the scalp that can cause itching. This health problem is common among children in schools or at daycare. Read the page on Lice to learn more about symptoms, prevention and treatment. 

Children and Mental Health

Like adults, children can be affected by mental illness. As a parent, you can help prevent mental illness in your child. You can also learn about the signs and symptoms of mental disorders and intervene if they occur. To find out more, consult the following pages: 

Nutrition

Children need nutritious, balanced meals. Since their nutritional needs change, it is important to know them well. To learn more about infant and newborn nutrition, consult the following pages: 

Last update: January 25, 2016 11:02 AM

Notice

A simple sting can harm you health! Registering with a Family Doctor Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor Colorectal Cancer Screening Colorectal Cancer Screening

Santé des enfants

Vaccination

Le meilleur moyen de prévenir les maladies infectieuses fréquentes chez les enfants est la vaccination. Le Programme québécois d’immunisation prévoit, dans son calendrier de vaccination, les vaccins que les enfants doivent recevoir pour se prémunir contre certaines maladies. 

Gastro-entérite (gastro)

La gastro-entérite, aussi appelée « gastro », est une inflammation de la paroi de l’estomac et de l’intestin, qui provoque de la diarrhée et des vomissements. Elle est fréquente chez les enfants et peut être causée par un virus, une bactérie ou un parasite. Pour savoir comment prendre soin de votre enfant en cas de gastro, consultez les pages suivantes :

Poux

Les poux sont de petits insectes qui se retrouvent sur le cuir chevelu et qui peuvent causer des démangeaisons. Ce problème de santé est fréquent chez les enfants en milieu scolaire ou service de garde. Consultez la page Poux pour en savoir plus sur les symptômes, la prévention et les traitements.

Les enfants et la santé mentale

Comme les adultes, les enfants peuvent être touchés par la maladie mentale. En tant que parent, vous pouvez contribuer à prévenir la maladie mentale chez votre enfant. Vous pouvez également vous informer sur les signes et symptômes des troubles mentaux et intervenir s’ils se manifestent. Pour en savoir plus, consultez les pages suivantes : 

Alimentation

Les enfants ont besoin de repas nutritifs et équilibrés. Puisque leurs besoins alimentaires évoluent, il est important de bien les connaître. Pour en savoir plus sur l’alimentation des bébés et des enfants, consultez les pages suivantes : 

Dernière mise à jour : 25 janvier 2016, 11:02

Avis

Consultations publiques sur l'encadrement du cannabis au Québec Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Dépistage du cancer colorectal Dépistage du cancer colorectal