Health Tips for the Winter

Cold

The cold can have direct and indirect effects on health. For example, it can cause or worsen certain health problems. The following pages describe the possible effects of cold temperatures and what you can do to prevent their consequences.

Air Quality

In winter, a number of factors can affect air quality in homes. These include the presence of mould caused by moisture or the improper use of fuel-burning appliances, such as wood-burning stoves or propane heaters. Outdoor air quality can also be poor during winter, especially when a smog warning is in effect. Air pollutants can affect the entire population’s health. For more details, read the following pages:

Travellers

Many Quebecers go abroad on vacation during winter. If you are one of these people, find out how to prevent certain health problems.

Flu and Gastroenteritis

Some viruses that circulate in Québec every year are more common in winter. They include the flu (influenza) and gastroenteritis, two highly contagious infections. They can be prevented by taking simple hygiene measures, such as washing your hands. To find out more, read the following pages:

Last update: January 12, 2018 3:13 PM

Notice

Cannabis is a complex substance Consumption of Alcohol and Other Drugs, and Gambling Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor Québec Health Booklet

Conseils santé pour l'hiver

Froid

Le froid peut avoir des effets directs et indirects sur la santé. Il peut notamment causer ou aggraver certains problèmes de santé. Les pages suivantes présentent les effets possibles du froid et les moyens de prévenir les conséquences qui y sont associées.

Qualité de l'air

En hiver, plusieurs facteurs peuvent affecter la qualité de l’air à l’intérieur des résidences. C’est le cas, par exemple, de la présence de moisissures causées par l’humidité ou de la mauvaise utilisation d’appareils utilisant du combustible, comme les foyers au bois ou les chaufferettes au propane. La qualité de l’air extérieur peut aussi être mauvaise pendant l’hiver, notamment lorsqu’un avertissement de smog est en vigueur. Les polluants de l’air peuvent affecter la santé de l’ensemble de la population. Pour plus de détails, consultez les pages suivantes :

Voyageurs

De nombreux Québécois prennent des vacances à l’étranger pendant l’hiver. Si c’est votre cas, renseignez-vous sur les moyens de prévenir certains problèmes de santé.

Grippe et gastro-entérite

Certains virus qui circulent chaque année au Québec sont plus fréquents pendant l’hiver. C’est le cas de la grippe (influenza) et de la gastro-entérite, deux infections très contagieuses. Elles peuvent être évitées à l’aide de mesures d’hygiène simples, comme le lavage des mains. Pour en savoir plus, consultez les pages suivantes :

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Dernière mise à jour : 08 janvier 2018, 16:02

Avis

Avant de consommer, informez-vous. C'est important. Super-cliniques