Preventing Tooth Decay

Use Fluoride Products

Fluorides help reduce bacteria that cause cavities and make teeth more resistant to decay. Fluorides are added to some dental products.

Fluorides help maintain a healthy mouth. They strengthen teeth enamel and are a safe and efficient way of preventing cavities. They can also stop the development of a cavity, and in some cases, even help reverse tooth decay that has already started.

Fluoride is found in the following items:

  • Fluoride toothpaste
    • It is recommended that you use fluoride toothpaste to prevent cavities and to strengthen teeth enamel. Fluoride toothpastes generally contain between 1,100 ppm and 1,500 ppm of fluoride
    • In some cases, dentists may recommend use of a toothpaste with a higher concentration of fluoride (5,000 ppm of fluoride)
  • Fluoride mouthwash
    • Helps prevent cavities and even reverse tooth decays that have already started. However, using mouthwash does not replace brushing or flossing of teeth
  • Fluoride supplements
    • Fluoride supplements, in the form of pills or drops, can help prevent tooth decay. Only children who are at risk of getting cavities and who live in areas where the water is not fluoridated should take fluoride supplements. The exact dose of fluoride supplements depends of the child’s age and the quantity of fluoride in the water in the area in which they live. Parents must consult a dentist to find out if their child should take fluoride supplements
  • Fluoridated water (in some municipalities)
    • Drinking fluoridated water is the simplest and most effective way of preventing cavities. Fluoride can be naturally present in water. Water containing a sufficient amount of fluoride is known to have beneficial effects and helps prevent cavities. Some municipalities add fluoride to drinking water so that it contains the ideal quantity for preventing tooth decay. This process is called ‘water fluoridation’. Contact your municipality to find out if your water is fluoridated. To learn more, go to the Fluoridation of Drinking Water page.

Last update: November 8, 2016 10:44 AM

Notice

Cannabis... Your teen is curious? Consumption of Alcohol and Other Drugs, and Gambling Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions.

Prévenir la carie dentaire

Utilisez des produits fluorés

Les fluorures ont pour effet de diminuer l’action des bactéries qui causent la carie et de rendre les dents plus résistantes à leur action. Ils sont ajoutés dans certains produits dentaires.

Les fluorures favorisent une bonne santé buccodentaire. Ils renforcent l’émail des dents et sont un moyen sécuritaire et efficace pour prévenir les caries. Ils peuvent aussi arrêter la progression de la carie et, dans certains cas, contribuer à renverser la carie débutante.

Les fluorures se trouvent dans :

  • les dentifrices fluorés
    • Il est recommandé d’utiliser un dentifrice fluoré pour prévenir les caries et renforcer l’émail des dents. Les dentifrices fluorés contiennent généralement entre 1 000 et 1 500 ppm de fluorure.
    • Dans certaines conditions, le dentiste peut recommander l’utilisation d’un dentifrice contenant une concentration de fluorure plus élevée (5 000 ppm de fluorure).
  • les rince-bouches fluorés 
    • Ils contribuent à prévenir la carie et à renverser les caries débutantes. Toutefois, ils ne remplacent pas le brossage des dents ni l’utilisation de la soie dentaire.
  • les suppléments fluorés 
    • Les suppléments fluorés, sous forme de comprimés ou de gouttes, peuvent aider à prévenir la carie dentaire. Seuls les enfants qui présentent un risque de carie et qui vivent dans une région où l'eau n'est pas fluorée devraient prendre des suppléments fluorés. La dose exacte de suppléments fluorés dépend de l'âge de l'enfant et de la quantité de fluorure présente dans l'eau de la région où il habite. Les parents doivent consulter un dentiste pour savoir si leur enfant doit prendre des suppléments fluorés.
  • l’eau fluorée (dans certaines municipalités)
    • Boire de l’eau fluorée est le moyen le plus simple et le plus efficace de prévenir la carie. Des fluorures peuvent être présents de façon naturelle dans l’eau. Lorsque l’eau contient une quantité suffisante de fluorures, ceux-ci ont des effets bénéfiques reconnus et contribuent à prévenir la carie. Certaines municipalités ajoutent des fluorures dans l’eau potable pour qu’elle en contienne la quantité idéale pour prévenir la carie dentaire. Ce procédé s’appelle « fluoration de l’eau ». Vous pouvez communiquer avec votre municipalité pour savoir si votre eau est fluorée. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Fluoration de l’eau potable.

Dernière mise à jour : 08 novembre 2016, 10:44

Avis

Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Consultations publiques sur l'encadrement du cannabis au Québec Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Saines habitudes de vie Saines habitudes de vie