Recognizing Drugs and Their Effects

Regulation of cannabis in Québec

Further the federal government’s decision to legalize cannabis and to the bill tabled on April 13, 2017, the Government of Québec has tabled a bill in the fall of 2017. For more information go to encadrementcannabis.gouv.qc.ca/en/ This link opens a new window..

Description

Drugs, which include alcohol and cannabis, are ‘psychoactive’ substances. Once absorbed, these substances alter one or more functions of the body and central nervous system. They can affect:

  • Thoughts
  • Emotions
  • Behaviour
  • Mood
  • Multiple organs

Drugs can be:

  • Natural
  • Synthetic (composed of chemical molecules produced in a lab)

It is important to know that street drugs can be mixed with products that are hazardous to health or other drugs. There is no way of knowing what these drugs contain regardless of their shape, colour or origin.

There is so much information circulating about drugs. This information is sometimes accurate, but it can also be far from the truth. To learn more about drugs and their effects, read the following sections:

Last update: July 21, 2017 10:01 AM

Notice

Keep your distance from the flu Consumption of Alcohol and Other Drugs, and Gambling Radon awarness month Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions.

Connaître les drogues et leurs effets

Encadrement du cannabis au Québec - Le Gouvernement vous consulte‎

Dans le contexte où le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à légaliser le cannabis, le Gouvernement du Québec a pris acte du projet de loi déposé le 13 avril 2017. Il amorce un processus de consultation et d’échanges qui mènera, à terme, au dépôt d’un projet de loi-cadre, à l’automne 2017.

Faites vous entendre en participant aux consultations en ligne et régionales Lien externe du 21 août au 12 septembre 2017.

Description

Les drogues, dont font partie l’alcool et le cannabis, par exemple, sont des substances appelées « psychoactives ». Une fois absorbées dans l’organisme, ces substances modifient une ou plusieurs fonctions du corps et du système nerveux central. Elles peuvent avoir des effets sur :

  • les pensées;
  • les émotions;
  • les comportements;
  • l’humeur;
  • plusieurs organes du corps.

Les drogues peuvent être :

  • d’origine naturelle;
  • de synthèse, c'est-à-dire composées de molécules chimiques produites en laboratoire.

Il est important de savoir que les drogues vendues sur le marché noir peuvent être mélangées à des produits dangereux pour la santé ou à d’autres drogues. On ne peut donc savoir exactement ce que contiennent ces drogues, quelles que soient leur forme, leur couleur ou leur provenance.

Toutes sortes d’informations circulent au sujet des drogues. Ces informations sont parfois exactes, mais elles sont parfois loin de la vérité. Pour en savoir plus sur les drogues et leurs effets, consultez les sections suivantes :

Dernière mise à jour : 03 août 2017, 09:17

Avis

Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Saines habitudes de vie Saines habitudes de vie Vaccination Vaccination